A Psalm for our times

By Cloyce Wiley 

I will worship You, O Lord. In tumult of conflict and clamor of striving, I will worship You.

When those around me say there is no God, no plan, no grand design,
When the good suffer and the evil exult, I will worship You, O Lord.

When my circumstances seem to deny the existence of a merciful God,
When I am consumed by rage at seeming injustice, I will worship You, O Lord.

When my heart cries out to understand, and my mind is swayed by arguments that would deny an all-knowing, all-caring, all-powerful God, even then I will worship You, O Lord.

Because, with time, when You deem me ready to receive it, You will show me the answer.

With time, I will see that You turn even horrible circumstances to good.

With time, I know anew that You love me, wholly, personally, individually, and beyond the limits of my comprehension, and nothing that has ever happened or ever will happen can alter Your love for me.

So even when I am angry, or distracted, or doubting, I will worship You.
When I at last am still, I come to know anew that You are God, and I will worship you.

Even when I see myself as alone, abandoned, unacceptable–even then You are there.  Your love is unfailing; your patience is unfaltering, for you are God.

When I at last am still, you change my confusion to assurance, my turmoil to tranquility.  You heal my impairments and forgive my iniquities because I am your child, and you are my God. 

You made the universe, and it is yours. You made me, and placed me in the midst of it.  I am frail and incompetent and flawed; yet by your forgiveness I am made perfect, and the world I have despoiled is a place of matchless beauty.

I will worship You, O Lord.

Cloyce Wiley is a writer who lives in Raymore, Mo.

 

Leave a Reply

