Sleepyhead Beds: Every Child Deserves a Bed

Sleepyhead Beds is a nonprofit charitable organization serving greater Kansas City.  Its mission is to provide a bed and warm bedding to area children in need — everyone knows that a good night’s sleep is essential, especially for a growing child.

Think of what a bed means to you or your child or children you know – comfort, safety, privacy, rest. Every night in Kansas City, approximately 1 in every 42 children will lie down without a bed to call their own. They lie on the floor, they crowd in bed with their siblings, or they sleep in a shelter.

Who are these children?

  • Victims of domestic violence
  • Children with disabled parents
  • Our littlest citizens living in poverty
  • Children removed from their homes and placed in foster care, always a special child who by no fault of her/his own doesn’t have the comfort and stability of a bed.

Why don’t they have beds?

  • There is currently no resource in our area to provide beds for those in need. Kansas City has some great organizations that supply food, housing, medical care, clothing and more, but no one else is equipped to handle beds.
  • The upfront cost of a bed is overwhelming to those in financial stress.
  • Those fleeing domestic violence do not have the time or resources to take their bed, let alone the money to buy one after escaping.
  • Many of those in need have moved recently (and/or move frequently) and are unable to provide transport of their own beds.

Sleepyhead Beds was dreamed up while its founders were working with Jackson County CASA and Operation Breakthrough. They discovered that thousands of Kansas City kids were without beds of their own and that existing community resources were not equipped to handle beds.

The creators of Sleepyhead Beds then thought of the outgrown beds sitting in garages and basements of the people they knew and sent out an email plea. The response was overwhelming, and a light bulb went off.  The idea is simple. Sleepyhead Beds takes gently-used, unwanted mattresses and bedding, sanitize and sterilize them, and distribute them to children in need. There is no application process – as long as they have beds, the beds go to any children that need them. They will pick up and distribute your donation of new or gently-used mattresses, box springs and bedding; and in turn, provide the comfort of beds to little heads.

So join them and keep the mattresses out of basements and garages, out of landfills, and give these kids a cozy place to lay their heads.  Sleepyhead Beds are always looking for new or gently used mattresses and bedding. Their immediate needs are: mattresses, box springs, bedding, new mattress pads (any of these in twin, full or crib sizes) and new pillows.  They also thankfully accept donations of time, talent and funds.

A great way to donate to this cause is to the spread the word! Tell your family, friends, co-workers, congregations – anyone and everyone. If you’re at a loss for words, feel free to copy and share this article.  Also visit the website for more info: www.sleepyheadbeds.org . From the site you can sign up for email, set up donation pickups and drop-offs, and contribute.  Perhaps you might consider this or a similar project in need as an alternative Christmas gift for someone on your list.

Your support is appreciated!

Compiled from information provided by friends of Sleepyhead Beds and from their website.

24 Comments »

  1. tammy hanshaw said

    i have a bed available……how do i notify to get this going?????
    and possibly a crib mattress…….

    • Janice Koons said

      My friend Donna has a Sealy mattress and box springs (5 years old) in great condition and wants to know how we can schedule a pick up in the Overland Park Kansas area. Call 913-341-6252. She would love to help this organization out and provide a bed for some child.

  2. Jeff Huffaker said

    I am a manager with Select Comfort here in KC. I would like to talk to you about donating to your organization. I saw you on the news tonight and what you are doing touched me and I think I can help. Please call me my cell is 913-620-1666

  3. Norm Beach said

    I have a good king-sized mattress, please contact me. (to donate)

  4. Karen said

    I have A greatgrandson that has no bed please notify me if you can help.816-463-3386 tyvm Karen

  5. I have two NEW twin beds w/box springs and frames.

    Please contact me via e-mail as I am profoundly deaf.

  6. theresa ailshire said

    I am looking for 2 queen for two different sets of teens..that are in need of a bed.

    one is a pregnant teen and the other is one that moved out at the age or 17.

  7. I am a mother of 2 boys that r currently in foster care. I am trying to get help getting beds for them as i am preparing for them to come home. PLEASE contact me through my email or u can always call & reach me @ 816-682-1825. I need to know what i need to do in order to get 2 twin beds. Thank YOU Katie A. Mendez

  8. Debbie Stidham said

    I have two sets of twin sheets, and a good twin mattress pad. Call 816-304-6180.

  9. JO WASHINGTON said

    I have a HIDE A BED with a full size mattress. If this will help you are welcome to it. You may call me at 816-537-7452.

    • Donna Cox said

      I am in need of a full size bed and mattress, but i live in Akron, Ohio

      • Donna said

        Donna, I have not yet contacted the sleepyheads Beds yet to let them know that we exsist here in PA – but we do the same sort of project, but we actually build the beds new and supply new mattresses with mattress covers and complete bedding for children. We are located in West Middlesex, PA near Sharon/Hermitage, PA. You can call us at 724-967-1785 or email us at bedsforlittleheads@yahoo.com and we will get you a bed a.s.a.p! :-) (no cost to you!) We are called Beds For Little Heads. Visit our face book page too and you can see a pic of the beds. They are hand made and very sturdy/high quality! Blessings to you! Donna Schroyer

  10. Paul Mcafee said

    I have a single top mattress that is in great condition. It came off a bunk bed, and it was the top bunk if you can pass it on then thats great Paul McAfee 816-519-0600 in Grain Valley MO.

  11. Lisa said

    I have a king matress with box springs and a regular matress with box springs. The king is over 10 years (definitely used), the regular is over 10 years, but nobody slept on it until about 5 years ago. Would like to donate if possible, otherwise will dispose of them. Please call 816-838-8696.

  12. Laura Taylor said

    I have two small bunk beds that can also be used as separate beds that my sons used when they were little. I would like to donate them to some needed children.
    Do you pick them up ? Thanks, Laura Taylor #816-452-5627

  13. Sandy Peeke said

    I have some bedding I would like to donate. Please let me know how to do this. I live in Overland Park. Thanks.

    Sandy

  14. karen said

    Please call lost address to drop off bed. 816 269 8016

  15. We have a queen size mattress and box springs that we would love to donate along with a twin size headboard and footboard with rails. 913-631-0528

  16. Stephanie Peugh said

    Hello my name is Stephanie Peugh, I have 3 little children and in need of 2 twin mattress and boxsprings and 1 baby bed. I am a single mother and cant affford it and also going through a case with division of family services and this would be a blessing from god for your help in this needed time god bless and hope you can help look forward to hearing from anyone soon. Contact me soon at 816 291 1253 thanks so much and god bless. Love Stephanie and my 4, 3, and 1 year old children look forward to your help thanks a million.

  17. mary kemp said

    i will probably have full size bed and box springs, gently used. also mattress cover and pillows and sheets . contact me at mkemp65@kc.rr.com at earliest convenience.

  18. jennifer bradley said

    We spoke in late Aug and I’m so sorry I misplaced your number. My husband and I have completed our MAPP class. there is a situation that has come up and tlc is wanting to get us a temporary license. They are wanting to do a walkthrough on wednesday. We found out on friday. Could you please call me at 9135266581? We would be needing Mattresses is only a twins and a full

  19. Marlene Goring said

    I have a queen mattress and box spring, plus sheets and comforter, would like to donate if someone can pick up.

  20. Kissey white said

    My children need beds desprately i a single mother of six

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

